Law

Spokane car accident: Things worth knowing

No matter how safely you drive, you could end up in a car accident in Spokane that wasn’t your fault. Following a crash, there are many aspects to consider and worry about. If the other driver was negligent, you must consider filing an injury lawsuit to seek compensation for your losses. Washington has some of the most claimant-friendly laws. You can talk to a Spokane car accident attorney to know more, but for your help, here are some key aspects worth knowing. 

The deadline for car accident lawsuits

In Washington, you have three years to file a car accident lawsuit, counting from the date of the accident. States usually have a statute of limitations, and compared to many states, the deadline is considerably longer in Washington. That said, you should not delay taking action and starting the claims process, as it can be painfully hard to find evidence and information later. 

Comparative fault rule

In some states, such as Virginia, you cannot sue the other party if you have a share in the fault. Washington, however, is different and follows the pure comparative fault rule. No matter your share in the blame, you can claim compensation from the other at-fault party. Your fault percentage will be used to determine the final compensation. For instance, if you were given $100,000 for your losses and your fault share is 40%, you will only get $60,000 as the settlement. 

What to do after a car accident?

Always report a car accident if there is death, injury, or considerable property. Take the following steps after an accident in Spokane- 

  1. Call the police. You have to inform the local law enforcement. 
  2. Call 911. If someone is injured, call 911 for immediate medical attention. 
  3. Move your vehicle. As long as it is safe, move your vehicle to the side of the road. 
  4. Take photos. If you are physically capable, take photos of the accident scene. 
  5. Exchange information. Get details like contact numbers and insurance info from other involved drivers. 
  6. Call an attorney. Contact an attorney without delay to discuss your car accident claim. 

Now that you know these facts, go ahead and find an attorney worth your trust. You need a local attorney with experience and someone who spends a considerable part of their practice on such car accident lawsuits. Ask about their fee in advance. You can look for local attorneys online through Google or law websites like Nolo. 

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button